Exploring Minecraft Networks

As part of the requirements for the EVO-MOOC I have started exploring a wider network of participants using Minecraft in education. I have previously mentioned my association with the minecraft experience wiki collated by Bron Stuckey. It is a few years now since we started working in my after school club and I am looking at scaling up some access for other students at school during teaching time. I joined the Minecraft in Education google community and started looking through several interesting posts. The latest news about Microsoft taking over MinecraftEDU has been widely commented upon by many people and this group has provided more insights I had not really considered. I thanked the participants for their thought provoking posts and added what my current situation is at school. It will be interesting to see how my education department’s development rolls out during 2016 as I am sure that some big changes are in the wind as far as having students online etc. Other items posted in this community showed some really interesting focus points such as the importing of 3D objects into Minecraft from Thingiverse after using TinkerCad. I will maintain a watch on this as I think it blends naturally with having students understand how modelling can be effective in lots of different media. This also reminds me that I wish to make sure students have access to OpenSim on our local LAN and prompts me to add to my list of ToDo items when I next speak with my tech people. The same participant in the community also reminded me about Scriptcraft and I started to follow his blog due to his numerous forays into interesting areas. I have also discovered a different server used by Jo Kay called Spigot. The people in the Minecraft in Education Community seem to be very knowledgeable and helpful when it comes to setting up servers and installing plug ins and mods which might be useful. I need to do a lot more research and discussion with those who know more than I!

2 thoughts on “Exploring Minecraft Networks

  1. Wow, I really enjoy reading your posts. We need to have en event where our most prolific bloggers present to the rest of the community. You guys are super!

  2. Hi, such a great post and you are an avid Minecraft user already. I would agree with Vance, you should definitely speak about your experience in using Minecraft in class. Great job!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *