EVO_MOOC Minecraft Server 4

I have spent the last hour or so checking out a Minecraft Redstone for Dummies book which I purchased towards the end of 2015. I have seen my students develop some interesting build features in community projects over the last few years such as lights on top of buildings, showers and simple machines. I have been wanting to learn more but haven’t really had time to force myself to sit down and watch videos. I learn better by reading and trying things myself. I have worked my way through several short activities as follows: 1. Laying glowstone blocks, attaching redstone wires and a pressure plate. Stand on the plate and the blocks connected will light up. 2. Figuring out that the trail of redstone will go up and down the blocks and across the ground. I added a lever as a switch to turn the blocks on and off. 3. The charge in redstone wires only travels for a certain number of blocks and in one direction. To alleviate the issue I added a redstone block which helps to further carry the charge and allows it to change direction. Apparently you can use repeaters to do something similar – something to try out on another occasion. 4. The redstone block powers any block adjacent to it. I placed one in the middle of 4 glowstone blocks and they all lit up. 5. A redstone torch is a constant power source. Wires running from it will light several blocks. The charge extends out one block. 6. I found out that certain elements will power adjacent blocks without redstone attached – I placed a pressure plate either side of the door to my cabin and the door opened once the plate was activated on either side of the door. I assume the same thing would happen with a lever. I have documented my experiments on my Flickr stream here. I also left some signposts describing the redstone experiments on the server.

2 thoughts on “EVO_MOOC Minecraft Server 4

  1. Thanks for sharing! I found some redstone while mining for iron and wasn’t sure what to do with it.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *