Making Quests Engaging

Haskell (2012) defines quest attractiveness as “the operational relationship of three components: capturing one’s interest, sustaining one’s effort, and resulting in a meaningful, personally relevant (highly rated) learning experience.” Developing attractive quests therefore is very important if we are to engage the learner in the process of learning. In my particular situation working with a small group of students I would probably develop a quest based on the use of Minecraft to develop some form of language arts project in which capturing a scripted movie would be the outcome. I know from experience the students are experienced Minecraft players. I know that such an activitiy would be a challenge due to the research and high level of language and technology skills required. As the students are highly motivated completing such a quest, which is beyond the realms of their normal classroom work, would be very motivating and would allow them to work together as a highly accomplished, entrepreneurial team – something I think they crave from the informal learning activities I have seen these students engaged in both at and away from the computer… this then is my challenge!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *