More on Quest Based Learning

Further thoughts about developing quests for learning in 3DGameLab. I’ll let the Voki explain these ideas.

 

Further thoughts:

When I started to develop my first quest my main challenge was to think of ways of sharing the students’ work which was not open to others on the internet. I decided to try Google Docs because I have some control over who can see the outcome due to sharing with the link only. The embedding of video wasn’t really that difficult. In fact many of the tools in 3DGameLab are similar to tools I have used in ThinkQuest and also Connect. However 3DGameLab has taught me ways to leverage new technologies – it has also given me more tools to help with assessment and provides me with an accumulation of evidence in each group created. This is probably the best system I have seen. If you put in the hard yards to develop the quests and marking and assessment processes right at the beginning – something which should really be happening at the developmental stages of planning and working to assess via criteria – then the whole thing should work to allow the teacher to concentrate on working with those students who need extra help or those students who will undoubtedly need more challenges after they reach the conclusion of their quests. Isn’t that what every teacher should be striving for?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *